Corporation Glossary


Officers run day-to-day corporate operations under the board of directors' supervision. A corporation generally must have three officers: (1) a president, (2) a treasurer and (3) a secretary. There is no limit on the maximum number of officers, and one person can hold more than one office. In fact, the same person can hold all three offices. If you have two or more persons who will act as officers, the president and the secretary should not be the same person.

Additional officers who may be elected include, but are not limited to, the: Vice President, Assistant Treasurer, Controller, Assistant Secretary, Chief Operating Officer, Chief Technology Officer and Chief Administrative Officer.
Ready to incorporate your business? GET STARTED NOW